Editorial Board

C.J. Polychroniou
Caroline S. Wagner
Juergen Braunstein
Robert Falkner
Professor Ann Florini
Thomas Hale
Gleider Hernández
Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi
Marion Laboure
Kate Macdonald
Anthony McGrew
Dr Eva-Maria Nag
Lauge Poulsen
Danny Quah
Professor Dani Rodrik
Joel Sandhu
Antonio Savoia
Anmol Saxena
Catherine Turner

Advisory Board

Professor Tim Besley
Professor Jagdish Bhagwati
Professor John Braithwaite
Professor Mick Cox
Professor Geoffrey Garrett
Professor Takatoshi Ito
Professor Mary Kaldor
Professor Robert Keohane
Andreas Klasen
Professor Sebastiano Maffettone
Professor Jeffrey Sachs
Professor Lord Nicholas Stern
Professor Joseph Stiglitz
Professor Ngaire Woods
Professor Tianbiao Zhu

Practitioners' Board

Mr Lakhdar Brahimi
Richard Burge
Augustin Carstens Carstens
Howard Davies
Bill Emmott
Pascal Lamy
Chris Miller
Alastair Newton
James Orbinski
Javier Solana
George Soros
Professor Muhammad Yunus

Takatoshi Ito

Professor Takatoshi Ito
Professor Graduate School of Economics and Graduate School of Public Policy University of Tokyo
Professor at Graduate School of Economics and Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Tokyo
Former Senior Advisor in the Research Department, IMF


Takatoshi Ito, Professor at Graduate School of Economics and Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Tokyo, has taught extensively both in the United States and Japan in the past after finishing Ph.D. in economics at Harvard University in 1979. He taught at University of Minnesota as Assistant and tenured Associate Professor (1979-88), as Associate and full Professor at Hitotsubashi University (1988-1999, and 2001-2002), and as Visiting professor at Harvard University (1992-94). He served as President of the Japanese Economic Association (2004).

As an unusual move for a Japanese academic, Ito was appointed in the official sector, as Senior Advisor in the Research Department, IMF (1994-97) and as Deputy Vice Minister for International Affaires at Ministry of Finance, Japan (1999-2001). He was also a member of the Prime Minister’s Council on Economic and Fiscal Policy (2006-2008 ). In 2007, he was nominated and voted affirmative in the House of Representatives for Deputy Governor of the Bank of Japan, but the opposition parties, which hold majority in the House of Councilors, vetoed the appointment.

He is an author of many books including The Japanese Economy (MIT Press, 1992), The Political Economy of the Japanese Monetary Policy and Financial Policy and Central Banking in Japan (both with T. Cargill and M. Hutchison, MIT Press, respectively 1997 and 2000), An Independent and Accountable IMF (with J. De Gregorio, B. Eichengreen, and C. Wyplosz, 1999), and many academic articles on international finance, monetary policy, and the Japanese economy in top journals, including Econometrica, American Economic Review, and Journal of Monetary Economics. His research interest includes capital flows and currency crises, microstructures of the foreign exchange rates, and inflation targeting. He has several books written in Japanese on these topics. He contributes frequently to Financial Times, Nihon Keizai Shinbun, and Toyo Keizai Weekly.